Print this Page

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics & Science Teaching (PAEMST)

The Awards: 

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science).

Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Since 1983, more than 4,200 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

The Montana Professional Teaching Foundation is proud to administer the award program in Montana.

The competition alternates each year between teachers of grades K-6 and teachers of grades 7-12.


The next awards will honor mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers working in grades K-6. Nominations close on April 1, 2014,

To nominate:
Visit this web site:

Montana's most recent winners are Melissa Romano (math) and Elizabeth Matthews (science).  Congratulations to these outstanding teachers!  


Awardees Receive: 

  • A special citation signed by the president of the United States

  • A $10,000 NSF grant

  • A paid trip to Washington DC for two to attend special recognition events

For more information:
Marco Ferro
Montana Professional Teaching Foundation
1232 East Sixth Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
406.442.4250, 800.398.0826, or