K-12 Teachers Program & Policy Council

2009 MEA-MFT PPC Report


Members Present:
Jeff Greenfield (co-chair), Billings EA
Dave Severson (co-chair), Missoula EA
Sharon Applegate, Kalispell EA
Lori Bremer, Red Lodge EA
Laurie Enebo, Glasgow EA
Tom Facey, Missoula EA
Michele Farmer, Harlem EA
John Fleming, St Ignatius FT
Sue Furey, Missoula EA
Shawn Hansen, Anaconda TU
Patti Harrison, Bozeman EA
Marcia Herman, Missoula EA
Gloria Howell, Missoula EA
Ron Kimmet, Big Horn EA
Trisha Klock, Helena EA
Cathy Kuntz, Great Falls EA
Suzi Lumpry, St Ignatius FT
Angela McLean, Anaconda TU
Jason Neiffer, Helena EA
Sara Novak, Anaconda TU
Christy Peeples, Kalispell EA
Don Petersen, Evergreen EA
Tami Phillippi, Bozeman EA
Tammy Pilcher, Helena EA
Karin Stanford, Lone Rock EA
Mike Thiel, Kalispell EA
Judie Woodhouse, Polson EA
Erik Burke, MEA-MFT Staff
Marco Ferro, MEA-MFT Staff

Action Taken. The PPC recommends MEA-MFT:

1. Explore the possibility of model evaluation system of both teachers and administration.
2. Ensure every district has a teacher mentoring program – assistance from MEA-MFT to help deliver/models/assistance/training.
3. Funding/time.
4. Positive public relations campaign – teachers, quality...
5. More assistance for locals with ER&D, mentoring, professional development.
6. Advocate for the importance of broad curricular offerings – no more narrowing of curriculum.