Thousands of teachers coming to MEA-MFT Educators’ Conference in Billings

Oct. 13, 2015

For more information: Eric Feaver, President, MEA-MFT, 406-442-4250

Montana’s k-12 students get two days off this week, while their teachers go back to school. More than three thousand Montana teachers and paraprofessionals will be updating their teaching skills and gaining new knowledge in their subject areas at the annual MEA-MFT Educators’ Conference. The conference takes place in Billings Thursday and Friday, Oct. 15-16, at Skyview High School and Castle Rock Middle School.

Each year, the Educators’ Conference allows Montana teachers to obtain the professional development they need to renew their teaching licenses, as required by Montana law. State law also requires closing school statewide the third Thursday and Friday of each October, to allow teachers to obtain the required renewal units.

MEA-MFT, Montana’s union for k-12 teachers and other public employees, organizes and funds the event each year to help improve teaching and learning in Montana. MEA-MFT teams up with the state’s curriculum groups – including math and science teachers, school nurses, technology teachers, art teachers, language and social studies teachers, and many others -- to put on the conference.

The MEA-MFT Educators’ Conference is the biggest professional development opportunity of its kind for k-12 teachers in the Pacific Northwest region. Every year, the conference is a colorful, exciting event.

Teachers can choose from hundreds of workshops and keynote addresses on every topic imaginable, from “No Yawn Calculus” to “Myth and History in the American West,” from “Spanish through the Ages” to “VEX Robotics.”

A highlight of the conference is the Montana Teacher of the Year Celebration: News media folks are especially encouraged to attend the Montana Teacher of Year Celebration, which takes place each year in conjunction with the Educators’ Conference. This event is guaranteed to be telegenic, photogenic, and inspirational for your listeners, viewers, and readers.

The celebration will honor 2016 Montana Teacher of the Year Jessica Anderson, a science teacher at Powell County High School in Deer Lodge; along with finalists Shelly Stanton of Billings Public Schools (Technology Integration & Business Education) and Derek Strahn of Bozeman High School (Social Studies).

The celebration is presented by the Montana Professional Teaching Foundation and sponsored by the Dennis & Phyllis Washington Foundation, SMART Technologies, and Montana Unified School Trust.


Back to News Listing