Nominate for presidential awards in math and science

The Awards: The PAEMST Program was established in 1983 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation (NSF).


Beginning in 2003, the competition began alternating each year between teachers of grades K-6 and teachers of grades 7-12. In 2007, teachers of grades 7-12 mathematics and science in each state and the four U.S. jurisdictions were eligible.


The Montana Professional Teaching Foundation administers the award program in Montana.


Awardees Receive:


  • A special citation signed by the president of the United States

  • A $10,000 NSF grant

  • A paid trip to Washington DC for two to attend special recognition events


Montana's 2007 award recipients are Ann Keith for math and William Joern for science.


2008 finalists include Charles Bertsch, Deanna Collins, Kathleen Hill, Courtney Niemeyer, and Lori Peterson.


Watch this web site for information on applying for the 2010 Presidential Award:


For more information:

Marco Ferro
Montana Professional Teaching Foundation
1232 East Sixth Avenue
Helena, MT 59601

406.442.4250, 800.398.0826, or

Back to News Listing